List of NBA Most Valuable Players in the regular season throughout league history.

Most Valuable Player award was created by NBA in the 1955-56 season. Trophy is named after Maurice Podoloff, first NBA president.

Players selected as the NBA Most Valuable Player by season

2022-23Joel EmbiidPhiladelphia 76ers
2021-22Nikola JokicDenver Nuggets
2020-21Nikola JokicDenver Nuggets
2019-20Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2018-19Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2017-18James HardenHouston Rockets
2016-17Russell WestbrookOklahoma City Thunder
2015-16Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors
2014-15Stephen CurryGolden State Warriors
2013-14Kevin DurantOklahoma City Thunder
2012-13LeBron JamesMiami Heat
2011-12LeBron JamesMiami Heat
2010-11Derrick RoseChicago Bulls
2009-10LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers
2008-09LeBron JamesCleveland Cavaliers
2007-08Kobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers
2006-07Dirk NowitzkiDallas Mavericks
2005-06Steve NashPhoenix Suns
2004-05Steve NashPhoenix Suns
2003-04Kevin GarnettMinnesota Timberwolves
2002-03Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs
2001-02Tim DuncanSan Antonio Spurs
2000-01Allen IversonPhiladelphia 76ers
1999-00Shaquille O'NealLos Angeles Lakers
1998-99Karl MaloneUtah Jazz
1997-98Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1996-97Karl MaloneUtah Jazz
1995-96Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1994-95David RobinsonSan Antonio Spurs
1993-94Hakeem OlajuwonHouston Rockets
1992-93Charles BarkleyPhoenix Suns
1991-92Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1990-91Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1989-90Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1988-89Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1987-88Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1986-87Magic JohnsonLos Angeles Lakers
1985-86Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1984-85Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1983-84Larry BirdBoston Celtics
1982-83Moses MalonePhiladelphia 76ers
1981-82Moses MaloneHouston Rockets
1980-81Julius ErvingPhiladelphia 76ers
1979-80Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1978-79Moses MaloneHouston Rockets
1977-78Bill WaltonPortland Trail Blazers
1976-77Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1975-76Kareem Abdul-JabbarLos Angeles Lakers
1974-75Bob McAdooBuffalo Braves
1973-74Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1972-73Dave CowensBoston Celtics
1971-72Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1970-71Kareem Abdul-JabbarMilwaukee Bucks
1969-70Willis ReedNew York Knicks
1968-69Wes UnseldBaltimore Bullets
1967-68Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1966-67Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1965-66Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia 76ers
1964-65Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1963-64Oscar RobertsonCincinnati Royals
1962-63Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1961-62Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1960-61Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1959-60Wilt ChamberlainPhiladelphia Warriors
1958-59Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks
1957-58Bill RussellBoston Celtics
1956-57Bob CousyBoston Celtics
1955-56Bob PettitSt. Louis Hawks