List of NBA Defensive Players of the Year in the regular season throughout league history.

Defensive Player of the Year award was created by NBA in 1982-83 season.

NBA players selected as Defensive Player of the Year by season

2021-22Marcus SmartBoston Celtics
2020-21Rudy GobertUtah Jazz
2019-20Giannis AntetokounmpoMilwaukee Bucks
2018-19Rudy GobertUtah Jazz
2017-18Rudy GobertUtah Jazz
2016-17Draymond GreenGolden State Warriors
2015-16Kawhi LeonardSan Antonio Spurs
2014-15Kawhi LeonardSan Antonio Spurs
2013-14Joakim NoahChicago Bulls
2012-13Marc GasolMemphis Grizzlies
2011-12Tyson ChandlerNew York Knicks
2010-11Dwight HowardOrlando Magic
2009-10Dwight HowardOrlando Magic
2008-09Dwight HowardOrlando Magic
2007-08Kevin GarnettBoston Celtics
2006-07Marcus CambyDenver Nuggets
2005-06Ben WallaceDetroit Pistons
2004-05Ben WallaceDetroit Pistons
2003-04Metta World PeaceIndiana Pacers
2002-03Ben WallaceDetroit Pistons
2001-02Ben WallaceDetroit Pistons
2000-01Dikembe MutomboPhiladelphia 76ers
1999-00Alonzo MourningMiami Heat
1998-99Alonzo MourningMiami Heat
1997-98Dikembe MutomboAtlanta Hawks
1996-97Dikembe MutomboAtlanta Hawks
1995-96Gary PaytonSeattle SuperSonics
1994-95Dikembe MutomboDenver Nuggets
1993-94Hakeem OlajuwonHouston Rockets
1992-93Hakeem OlajuwonHouston Rockets
1991-92David RobinsonSan Antonio Spurs
1990-91Dennis RodmanDetroit Pistons
1989-90Dennis RodmanDetroit Pistons
1988-89Mark EatonUtah Jazz
1987-88Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1986-87Michael CooperLos Angeles Lakers
1985-86Alvin RobertsonSan Antonio Spurs
1984-85Mark EatonUtah Jazz
1983-84Sidney MoncriefMilwaukee Bucks
1982-83Sidney MoncriefMilwaukee Bucks
This site use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue, we'll assume that you accept our privacy policy. Accept and continue to siteReview cookies