Russell Westbrook wins NBA MVP; Rockets, Bucks take 2 awards

Russell Westbrook was named NBA MVP ending the first NBA Awards show, which included two wins apiece for the Houston Rockets and Milwaukee Bucks.

Westbrook joined Oscar Robertson as the only players to average a triple-double for the season, and he broke Robertson's single-season record set when he had 41 triple-doubles in 1961-62.

2016-17' NBA season individual awards

  • Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook (Bucks)
  • Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon (Bucks)
  • Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green (Warriors)
  • Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Bucks)
  • Sixth Man of the Year: Eric Gordon (Rockets)
  • Coach of the Year: Mike D'Antoni (Rockets)
  • Executive of the Year: Bob Myers (Warriors)
  • Sportmanship: Kemba Walker (Hornets)
  • Teammate of the Year: Dirk Nowitzki (Mavs)

Special awards

  • Lifetime Achievement award: Bill Russell
  • SagerStrong Award: Monty Williams.
This site use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience. We also use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue, we'll assume that you accept our privacy policy. Accept and continue to siteReview cookies